Back to Content

Six Design Think Tanks aiming to transform the city

How can design improve the way we live in cities? Design Think Tanks (DTTs) at the LSA put forward proposals to help meet the targets set out in the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. Global Currents proposes ‘Welcome to Walthamstow’ — an integrated tourism strategy for Walthamstow that reflects the local culture, character and scale and enriches the urban environment for visitors and residents alike.

Design Think Tanks are collaborative projects between students and leading architectural practices at the London School of Architecture. The UN Sustainable Development Goals address the global challenges we face, including those related to poverty, inequality, climate, environmental degradation, prosperity, and peace and justice. They are a blueprint to achieve a better and more sustainable future for all.


Global Currents: Welcome To Walthamstow

Leaders: Javier Quintana de Uña (IDOM), Rafael Marks and Anna- Lisa Pollock (Penoyre & Prasad). Students: Hugh Gatenby, Katja Hasenauer, Nefeli Kouroushi, Phoebe Mo, Daniel Paigge, Steve Alton.


Adaptive Typologies: The Last Mile

Leaders: Harbinder Birdi, Benjamin Graham, Fiona Stewart and Mikel Azcona (Hawkins\Brown). Students: Ella Clarke, Sam Davies, Duncan Graham, Betty Owoo, Ivo Pery, Oliver Sanger.


Architectural Agency: The Happy City

Leaders: Christophe Egret and MarkWarren (Studio EgretWest) andThomas Bryans (IF_DO). Students: Charlie Corciulo, Sara Edilbe, Nicholas Leigh, Jaymi Sudra, CharityWhitehead, StephenYiavasis.


Emerging Tools: Homesteading The City

Leaders: Angie Jim Osman and Sarah Curran (Allies and Morrison), Maria-Chiara Piccinelli and Maurizio Mucciola (PiM.studio Architects). Students: Daniel Booth, Alec Crisp, Chiara Dognini, Dante Hall, Jessica Hodgson, Fruzsina Karig, Alex Pringle.


Metabolic Cities: Home Economics

Leaders: Yasir Azami and Andrew McEwan (Orms). Students: Daniel Barrett, James Clark, Luke Hughes, Calven Lee, Eira Mooney, Priya Nahal.


New Knowledge: Floating Exchange Rates

Leaders: Peter Swallow (Grimshaw Architects) and Akari Takebayashi (Heatherwick Studio). Students: Carrick Blore, Nancy Jackson, Linda Malaeb, Charles McLaughlin, Sasha Nakitende, Xavier Smales and Lucy Steeden.